crossover "break in" time? (Off Topic)

by Eddie @, Wednesday, March 21, 2007, 19:33 (6218 days ago) @ MikeH

Hello Mike,

I am not an electrical engineer, but I try for already a long time to find scientific reasons for audible differences. This is a niche market as you probably experienced.

Nothing will change in a well made inductor or resistor, I can only assume
it is a chemical change inside the capacitors. If this is the case I expect
they will sound good for a while then continue to "break in" until they
stop working properly.

My experience with resistors is indeed that they do not need braking in. What I once experienced is that resistors changed value slowly due to overheating. Capacitors and cables do change in time. About capacitors I can say that they are much more complicated than people realize. Besides capacitance they have resitance, inductance, leak current, dielectric losses and ..? The dielectric properties usually change considerably with temperature and life time. There is almost no research on the behavior of capacitors for high-end audio. The only paper that I once saw was a measurement of the frequency response of power supply capacitors. In this test Black Gates did not appear superior above other high quality types, such as Elna Cerafine. I once made the test in my amp which changing one Elna for one Black Gate and the last one sounded a LOT better.