Preamp and amp recommendation (BD-Design)

by putterart @, Friday, August 17, 2007, 23:46 (6096 days ago)

I am new to horns and this forum. I purchased used Oris 150s with Lowther PM4A aer modified drivers. I am using Avantgarde 225 subs. I have tried various push-pull amps. What do others recommend as preamp/amp? Also, what speaker wire do others use? Thanks for the help.

Tags:

Preamp and amp recommendation

by madprofessor ⌂, 27777 Ganderkesee, Germany, Saturday, August 18, 2007, 09:53 (6095 days ago) @ putterart

Hallo!
I also use a horn-system. For speaker-cables I´ve got good results with van den Hul Revelation.
To drive the horns, I use a Single Ended Valve amp - for testing a modified Music Angel with 845 output tubes, but I´ m building now an own amp using the GM 70 triodes.
The preamp I build myself, using very good components, but very few active elements. All the other cables I also build myself.
It´s always difficult to give recommendations of production gear - a lot of stuff is to expensive for the performance offered.
Maybe a Hiraga would be a good choice for power-amp - they are not to expensive used. Or a decent valve amp.
I didn´t hear Berts new amps, but what I read in the Forum sounds very promising.
Best regards
Stephan

Tags:

by GC, Saturday, August 18, 2007, 12:07 (6095 days ago) @ putterart

I would recomend you a good sounding SET. Could be this one: http://www.enjoythemusic.com/magazine/equipment/1006/di_hifi_ladyday_91.htm

But many others as well.

As a preamp (no it's not an amp, it's a TVC) I recomend BD-Design CrazyV. Look it up at http://www.bd-design.nl/index1.html

For cables I have no special recomendation.

GC

Tags:

by angeloitacare, Sunday, August 19, 2007, 02:06 (6094 days ago) @ putterart

may you look at this list :

http://www.theaudioeagle.com/recommended.html

Tags:

by Bert @, Sunday, August 19, 2007, 12:10 (6094 days ago) @ putterart

I am new to horns and this forum. I purchased used Oris 150s with Lowther