Speaker protection... (BD-Design)

by samoore @, Monday, August 27, 2007, 21:46 (6084 days ago)

Hi Everyone,

I have been enjoying my Oris Compact system for a few years now. Recently we had an addition to the family and he is growing fast! He should be mobile very soon, and I am finding myself very worried about the health of my speakers. :shame: I was wondering if there is a preferred method to cover the BD15s to protect them from little probing fingers, thrown toys, etc? Hopefully something that is both strong, visually pleasing and as sonically transparent as possible.

Thanks all!

Steve

Tags:

Speaker protection...

by Bert @, Tuesday, August 28, 2007, 23:46 (6083 days ago) @ samoore

Hi Steve,

Recently we had an addition to the family and he is growing fast! He
should be mobile very soon, and I am finding myself very worried about the
health of my speakers. :shame: I was wondering if there is a preferred
method to cover the BD15s to protect them from little probing fingers,
thrown toys, etc? Hopefully something that is both strong, visually
pleasing and as sonically transparent as possible.

It will never be visual pleasing and acoustically transparent but you could make anything for using it during the day and when you want to listen seriously (the kid should then be in bed anyhow...) then you can take it off?

Bert

--
BD-Design - Only the Best!

Tags:

Speaker protection...

by samoore @, Wednesday, August 29, 2007, 07:01 (6083 days ago) @ Bert
edited by unknown, Wednesday, August 29, 2007, 07:04

That is a good idea Bert, probably the safest option. Unfortunately my system gets a lot of use for radio, TV, movies, etc. We use it nearly every night, so I was hoping for something that doesn't need to be removed except for critical listening. I have seen some cloth grills that can be made, but you have to drill holes in the cabinets to mount them. I wonder if velcro would work just as well.

Steve

Tags:

Speaker protection...